Cracker Monster

The first sign that Bryce used was “milk,” but not far behind was “cracker.”

IMG_1066

That is pretty amazing to me, because I don’t think he had ever seen a cracker before, except on Baby Signing Time.  I NEVER eat crackers unless I have the puking bug or I’m having a party.  I don’t buy snack food for two reasons:

  1. If I’m truly hungry, crackers and pretzels aren’t going to cut it.
  2. If I’m not truly hungry, I should probably drink some water and move on.

But, Bryce wanted crackers, and I wanted to reinforce his signing, so I bought some crackers.  They have actually come in very handy!  They are easy to keep in the car for snack emergencies.  They (sometimes) occupy him long enough so that I can change his diaper without putting him in a leglock on the floor.  They can also be vehicles for some pretty nutritious spreads.

One of my favorite spreads to put on crackers is  Peanut Butter Hummus.   Lots of protein, fiber, and healthy fats for my growing boy.  You can also roll this into little balls with chocolate chips for a quick Mommy-treat!

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter, or more if desired
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 T maple syrup or honey (can be increased or omitted if desired)

Combine all ingredients in food processor and pulse until smooth.

Spread on crackers, on bread, roll into little balls, mix in raisins or chocolate chips, anything you want!  You can sub any nut butter you want, but peanut butter is the most flavorful.

Enjoy!  I know my little Cracker Monster does. =)

IMG_1069

One thought on “Cracker Monster

  1. Pingback: Another Nut Butter Trick | Healthy Happy Vernons

Leave a Reply

