Daily Routines

This morning was pretty yucky.

IMG_0631

It was the perfect morning to stay in bed, then stay in pajamas, linger over coffee, and maybe watch some Castle reruns on Hulu.  Before my sweet, wonderful little ray of sunshine came into my life, that is probably what I would have done, but Sunshine wakes at 5:30am, rain or shine, weekend, or weekday, so I’d better be ready!  Something that has helped smooth my mornings out is having a routine in place for both Bryce and myself.

This summer, my friend Julie (who also has a fabulous and informative blog) introduced me to Flylady.net, and it CHANGED MY LIFE.  This lady is the a combination of Martha Stewart, your next door neighbor, and the strict elementary school teacher that never let you off the hook for anything, but you secretly loved.  Flylady’s philosophy revolves around having routines in place so that you do a little bit everyday and never get to the point of having do to a lot all at once.   I will definitely be talking more about how I applied FlyLady’s tips to our household in the future!

One of FlyLady’s strongest recommendations is having an evening routine and a morning routine.  Your evening routine sets you up for success the next day, and your morning routine puts you on autopilot while you clear out the morning fog.

In the evenings, my fabulous husband does the dishes and wipes down the counters and sink while I:

  • Prep Bryce’s breakfast (usually defrosting a muffin or making oatmeal to reheat.)
  • Fill sippy cups with milk and water.
  • Pack lunch for myself and Bryce, if it is a work night.
  • Set the coffee maker.
  • Check my calendar and make a todo list for the next day.
  • Shower and blow dry my hair.
  • Pick out my clothes for the next day.
  • Zzzzzzz……

I set my alarm for 6:15, but usually Bryce wakes up earlier.  When I hear him starting to stir on the monitor, morning autopilot kicks in.

  • Brush hair (If I blow dry the night before, it usually looks pretty good, some hairspray and a flat iron fixes any kinks)
  • Contacts in
  • Awesome tinted moisturizer and eye cream (VitaZing and GinZing, both from Origins), mascara
  • Get dressed, all the way to shoes
  • Go in to get Bryce, hold him in a leg lock on the floor while he fights and screams his way through a diaper change and clothing change  (Best part of the morning right there.)
  • Breakfast and coffee is waiting for both of us, and we are both dressed and ready to go for the day!

Even on mornings like today that I would dearly love to stay in my pajamas, I’m always glad that I got dressed.  I feel like a human being, I’m ready to roll if it’s a good playground day, or if we need to run some morning errands.  Also, I want Bryce to have memories of his mom looking and smelling nice!

I know from being a teacher that children thrive on routines.  I didn’t realize until I started following FlyLady’s advice just how much I would thrive on routines as well!

2 thoughts on “Daily Routines

  1. Pingback: No More Chaos, Part 1 | Healthy Happy Vernons

  2. Pingback: A Morning with Bryce | Healthy Happy Vernons

Leave a Reply

