Look for the good

Today was pretty insane, not gonna lie.  Halfway to work, I got a phone call and found out that I didn’t have a babysitter for the day.  This was the backup backup backup sitter that we found at 10:15 last night on Care.com, because the backup backup sitter caught a stomach virus, the backup sitter was out of town, and our regular sitter is in Hawaii.  So instead of planning out my weekly lessons, making copies, and working on interims, I was making phone calls, sending emails, and frantically switching my class schedule around so that I could go home and my husband could go to the job that ACTUALLY makes money.

I had the drive home to collect my thoughts, and I spent some time following Bing Crosby’s advice on Counting Your Blessings.  I’m thankful that my job is flexible enough that I can change my schedule, and that they would have been supportive even if I had to just leave.  I’m thankful DJ’s job has flexible hours so it wasn’t a big deal for him to go in late.  I’m thankful that Bryce naps from 10-noon so I had time to rest myself when I got home!  So many more things to be grateful for.

Sometimes, I catch myself being a martyr.  It is so easy  to focus on the negative; the baby woke up too early, the husband never wipes his hair out of the sink, I’ve been working so hard balancing job, home, self, etc..  But, If you look for the bad, you will surely find it.   Being a mom is a LOT of work, which I expected, but I didn’t expect it to be nearly so joyful!Every day, Bryce amazes me with what he sees, what he knows, with all the cute things he does.  Today:

He discovered that his macaroni shells fit exactly on his fingertips.

He spent 15 minutes opening and closing the sliding glass door to the patio, putting his hand out to feel the rain, and signing “Rain!  Water!  Cold!”

He put his arms up and said “Ta daaaaah!” every time I turned on a light.

He tried on every shoe in my closet.

photo (2) copy

He helped me unload the dishwasher, picking up the tupperware, handing it to me and making his “Thank you” sound.

It would be a disservice to myself and my family to focus on the negative, I might miss all the great moments!  So next time 5 babysitters fall through the cracks, I’m just going to call in sick.  Then I can add “Staying in Pajamas” and  “2nd cup of coffee” to the things I am grateful for!

Leave a Reply

